History of Oliver’s Lounge
As we toast Oliver’s 37th anniversary, we look back on the deep (and not so dark!) history of a cocktail lounge that has stood the test of time and grown to be known as ‘The Granddaddy of Cocktail Bars’.
Oliver’s has always led the pack, becoming one of Seattle’s first lounges to emerge as a “Daylight Bar” after one of the state’s antiquated Blue Laws was repealed in 1976. Until then, laws prohibited any lounge from being viewed from the outside. Blue Laws throughout the country were a result of the era of Prohibition and actually still prohibit some states from selling liquor on Sundays.
Oliver’s opened its doors on June 26, 1976 with large floor-to-ceiling windows and 300 panes of glass showcasing street-side activity on the corner of Fourth and Olive right across from the Bon Marche, now Macy’s. When the Bergonian Hotel (now the Mayflower Park Hotel) opened, this historic corner was the site of one of Bartell’s first drug stores and later, from 1947 until early 1976, was home of the Carousel Room restaurant and lounge featuring large carousel horses suspended from the ceiling.
Oliver’s is the legendary, seven-time winner of Best Classic Martini in Seattle’s Best Martini Challenge and also won Best Classic Martini twice in the First and Second International Martini Challenge with their “Ultimate Chill” which is featured on the menu.
Oliver’s Hours of Operation
Open seven days a week, from 11:30 am to 2:00am, Oliver’s features lunch and dinner service in addition to wines by the glass and award-winning martinis and classic cocktails. Steven Johansson, Director of Food And Beverage for the Mayflower Park Hotel, oversees operations. Oliver’s is located in the beautifully renovated Mayflower Park Hotel, one of the last remaining locally owned and independent hotels in the Seattle area. Located at 405 Olive Way in Seattle’s retail core, the Mayflower Park Hotel is operated by local owners Birney and Marie Dempcy and managed by Paul Ishii, General Manager.